The Contract With God Trilogy

The Contract With God Trilogy (Norton, 2005)
The Contract with God Trilogy. Buy at Amazon.

The legendary graphic novel and the sequels that launched an art form.

With graphic narrative that "was closer to the writing of Bernard Malamud or Isaac Bashevis Singer than any comic art which had preceded it" (The Economist), A Contract with God, originally published in 1978, was the first graphic novel: the prototype — along with A Life Force and Dropsie Avenue — for such seminal works as Art Spiegelman's Maus and Marjane Satrapi's Persepolis. Set during the Great Depression, this literary trilogy, assembled in one volume for the first time, presents a treasure house of now near-mythic stories that fictionally illustrate the bittersweet tenement life of Eisner's youth. With nearly two dozen new illustrations and a revealing new foreword, this book ultimately tells the epic story of life, death, and resurrection while exploring man's fractious relationship with an all-too-vengeful God. This mesmerizing, fictional chronicle of the universal American immigrant experience is Eisner's most poignant and enduring legacy.

"An inspiration to several generations of cartoonists."
Art Spiegelman, author of Maus

The Contract With God Trilogy: Life on Dropsie Avenue (2005) collects in hardback the three graphic novels set on Eisner's fictional avenue in New York: A Contract With God, A Life Force and Dropsie Avenue.

Visit the WW Norton page on this graphic novel.